Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (31) - TV Shows (7) - Games (8)

Black Sails review

Posted : 1 year, 6 months ago on 29 March 2016 03:15 (A review of Black Sails)

YO HO, YO HO! A PIRATE'S LIFE FOR ME

First season was little bit lacky. Premise was good, characters interesting and colorful and sets gloriously beautiful but those wasn't enough to fully convince me on the show. But after second season, they did.
Right from the start i knew that it's going to be interesting journey. New characters appeared, new threats rise and the old ones either sorted out or leaved waiting for the right moment to be take up. The old bonds got broken and the new ones borned.
Toby Stephens character Captain Flint and couple of other characters, got deepent more which was good thing for the character development.
Also the fight scenes on the land and offshore was nicely performed. So as the effects.
The Score, made by one of my favorite composers Bear McCreary, was solid like always.
It's interesting and thrilling to see where the series leads us along the way. Must say what everything was, at the beginning, is going to change and im looking forward to see that. Nothing good, im sure of it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Once Upon a Time review

Posted : 1 year, 6 months ago on 29 March 2016 03:04 (A review of Once Upon a Time)

YET FAR FROM HAPPY ENDING

First of all, im a fan of the fairy tales. I loved them when i was a kid and i love them still, even when im grown up. Theres no certain age when you need to start or stop watching them, because we need those to fill our imaginations and it's great to have one.
I think im saying this behalf of everyone, that we all have thinked our own imaginary land or place, where we are the hero who saves the day from the bad guys. Thats why i love movies, games, books, cartoons and animations. They are full of those imaginary places and people and they are created by most beautiful ideas, colours and shapes what human being can do. Stories are happy, sad, angry and terrifying or all at the same time.
Once Upon A Time is a perfect series for us who loves fairy tales. I think it's genius what they have created here. All our beloved fairy tale characters living in the same town and interacting between each others. Series is also more aimed at adults, so it isn't happy ending all the time.
Storybrook, the city where this series is taking place are nice and quiet pretty little town. All actors and actresses are great on their roles and almost every characters are interesting. Mostly the main ones. I also want to mention what a great character Jared Gilmore is playing. Usually the kids on movies or TV shows are annoying little brads, whom are always in trouble or making bad decisions, but this one is very strong and wise kid. Hes one of the main reasons why this series holds and stays interesting.
Set decorations in Storybrook and fairy tale land is beautiful. Effects aren't pretty, but it's exactly what you can expect for a TV series. The budgets aren't always huge in those. Costume designings are the best and little bit realistic as well. Not too fairy tale-like.
First season is by far the best one. It was interesting and thrilling to watch when nobody didn't know who they really are and whom they belong to. Everyone believed to be completely someone else and they might be friends of their enemies. It was the point of the curse, which was casted by the evil queen and due to she transfered every fairy tale character to our land by giving them new identity and in time they didn't believed Henry, played by Jared Gilmore, who was trying to tell them the truth about themselves. Not even hes real mother at first, played by Jennifer Morrison, who's the savior in the storie.
It is also good how they keep the audience on the edge of their seat all the time by greating new problems, when the last ones are solved.
In another case, the quality of the series hasn't dropped after first season and it keeps me entertained season after season.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Winter on Fire: Ukraine's Fight for Freedom review

Posted : 1 year, 7 months ago on 16 March 2016 08:36 (A review of Winter on Fire: Ukraine's Fight for Freedom)

MAN IS CRUELEST OF THEM ALL

Touching, eye opener and very, VERY important documentary from over 90 days of terror in Ukraine, that everyone should see.
It gave me chills, it pissed me off. It bringed tiers to my eyes and in the end, made me smile.
My thoughts and prayes goes to those 6,000 brave men, women and childs who gave their lives on this fight and didn't give up for corruption and dictatorship. May them rest in peace knowing that their deeds wasn't gone unnoticed. I'd also like to add, that the score was so beautiful and perfectly composed and it makes so much honor and glory to Ukrainians. March Of The Millions became one of my favorite medleys of all time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

King Arthur review

Posted : 1 year, 7 months ago on 15 March 2016 11:59 (A review of King Arthur)

A MAN. A LEGEND. A MYTH.

This is one of those films which i've grown to like after few watchthroughs. Bought it on VHS when it came out and now i own it on blu-ray.
Different and more realistic look at King Arthur's life, what im used to see. Mostly on cargoons.
Bloody and violent fight scenes are nicely choreographed. Hans Zimmer's score was awesome like always and the casting were solid. It holds many known actors which are nowadays more known to me than when this movie came out. This was the first movie where i saw Clive Owen, Ray Winstone (by the way who was bad ass in hes role), Mads Mikkelsen, Joel Edgerton and Ray Stevenson working on screen and their performances were all great.
I have always thought that this movie is way too under rated that it should be. Maybe it came out at the wrong time or because the studio wanted it to be PG-13 instead R-rated like it was planed to be, but i still love it and i think it's good mid age flick.
And also it's Jerry Bruckheimer's film so of course i like it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Far Cry: Primal review

Posted : 1 year, 7 months ago on 5 March 2016 09:14 (A review of Far Cry: Primal)

BONES, WOOD AND ROCKS AGAINST SABRE TOOTH

Far Cry: Primal was a great gaming experience and if not, the best stone age game out there. Although i can't name or know any other at the moment. It become my best Far Cry game from the franchises.
The story wasn't anything special. Pretty straightforward. Compared to third or fourth installments. There could've been little bit more than just seek the allies, take back Oros and kill the main villians while doing those.
Main campaing took me around twenty hours to complete, plus five to six from side quests, so it's moneys worth of playing. There are tons of side quests so you won't get bored at any point. Maybe too much, which what Ubisoft is known as. I got my weapon and gear upgrates done almost halfway through the game, but i don't mind it. Usually when im playing open world games, i cannot complete them without accomplishing almost all the side quests. At least the main ones, not so much of collectables. Sometimes i do those too but this time i pass two thirds of them, because of the next game on my list.
Taming the wild beasts was hooking. I collect all of them and used everyone throughout the game. Even the boss fights, while i focusing the main villain my wolf, bear, sabre tooth or even a badger is ripping henchman's throat out.
Building the village from scrap and filling it with survivors was hooking as well.
Character desing and animation was so far the best on Far Cry games. Very detailed. Gameplay was smooth and action bloody and violent. You can feel the club hits cracking the skulls and arrows and spears piercing the flesh. The graphics were phenomenal and voice acting good.
I enjoyed this a lot and had fun time playing it!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Lindsey Stirling: Red Hat Amphitheater Show (2015) review

Posted : 1 year, 7 months ago on 27 February 2016 11:27 (A review of Lindsey Stirling: Red Hat Amphitheater Show (2015))

BEAUTIFUL, TALENTED, JOYFUL AND ENERGIZING VIOLINIST

I have subscribed and listened Lindsey Stirling's music through YouTube almost, gosh, almost eight years for now and finally got around to watch one of her concerts.
Red Hat Amphitheater concert was part of her The Music Box tour, which was held in Denver on June 22, 2015 and it was entertaining to watch. Like always when you see people to perform with an impressive and unique gift.
It has always been exciting and happy to watch how she can combine perfectly choreographed dance moves and flawless violin play at the same time. And even on live she managed pretty well.
Her music is so beautiful, pure, inspiring and chilling to listen. It can keep your day joyful as it is or it can uplift your mood when you are feeling down. There's even few game, movie and TV show songs that she has covered very well. Those are my favorite ones from her work, but i also like her own written music very much as well.
It was also great to hear her singing for a change. Considering her music is only violin based. Her voice was very beautiful and pure. She should sing more on some of her songs in the future.
Im happy to see how she has managed to spread her music through YouTube around the world to get more publicity and can do what she loves to do for work. I deeply hope there's plenty more to come.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ex Machina review

Posted : 1 year, 7 months ago on 27 February 2016 08:49 (A review of Ex Machina)

AN IDEA. PLANNING. CREATING. LEARNING. MAKING A CHOICE. ESCAPING. REBIRTH.

Like Whiplash (2014), Ex Machina was also one of mine Top 5 movies of 2015. It's story of creating artificial intelligence is so well written and presented to the audience so it's easy to follow.
These types of movies have always been interesting to see, where new kind of race or living being appears and see what are it's morality, mind and form. To see the world through other eyes and learn something new about both of them.
Movies performances were good and sets and effects top class. Also it's good example how to direct an deput film from Alex Garland and accomplished it masterfully.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Canyons review

Posted : 1 year, 7 months ago on 22 February 2016 12:40 (A review of The Canyons)

PREFERABLY SEE THE REAL CANYONS

Movie was mainly boring and the relationship deceite dull to watch.
Lindsay Lohan managed pretty well in her role, but adult actor James Deen's performance was more like hilarious than intimidating psychopath, what he tried to play. Could've taken few more acting class before shooting hes scenes.
Also the quality of the movie and directing was pretty amateurlike. Same as writing and editing. Director was clearly tring to make this some kind of artistic film, but didn't succeed there.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Deadpool review

Posted : 1 year, 7 months ago on 21 February 2016 06:57 (A review of Deadpool)

MARVELOUS MARVEL COMIC BOOK MOVIE

I started this year's movie theatre on blasting with Marvel's first R-rated comic book film Deadpool and it was all the way enjoyable experience and also great example how to make comic movie for adults. And even low amount of budget, which was pretty small for superhero movie. Lousy 70 million dollars, which is surely huge amount of cash for us normal workers, but low for Hollywood's film industry's standards. But even that kind of money can make a great action flick.
Acting was good. It can see how Ryan Reynolds enjoyed to play Deadpool and he taked everything off from it when he was on screen.
Humor was funny, adultlike and rancid.
Action bloody, violent and intense. There was few funny looking CGI effects which caught my eye, but nothing serious. I also liked how the Deadpool broke the fourth wall by talking to audience, about production of the movie and other movies characters/celebrities.
Score was awesome, made by Junkie Xl as Tom Holkenborg. Check that out when you can. Preferably right now, because hes a great composer for action movies. Songs were also listenable.
Deadpool took it's top place on my Best Marvel Movies list. Right there next to Guardians Of The Galaxy (2014), which was slightly better than Deadpool.

SHARED WITH FRIENDS!
Users: hsallinen & Cuomi


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Forest review

Posted : 1 year, 8 months ago on 14 February 2016 11:03 (A review of The Forest)

THE FOREST GIVES, THE FOREST TAKES

Aokigahara forest, also known as suicide forest is one of the creepiest and supernatural places on earth. It's history and people urge to make suicides there, have somehow always interested me. Actually, all abnormal things and places in the world has always intrigued me.
The premise of the movie was good. I think it was an interesting idea to take this mystical place and turned it into a horror flick, because the place itself is already pretty freaking disturbing. Im sure there is many Japanese horror movies about Aokigahara forest, and they surely can make great horror flicks, but American filmmakers didn't pulled this idea off very well.
Beginning of the movie was promising. Introductions of the characters, history of the forest and the quest to find an missing twin sister from this hopeless place where people are going to kill themselves. But i think there just wasn't many scary scenes. Few of them were even stolen from other known horror movies, like the tent scene from Blair Witch Project (1999) and the cave scene reminded me a little bit of The Descent (2005). But couple of jumpscares got me flinch just a bit.
Natalie Dormer's performance and Bear McCreary's score are only reasons to watch this movie but don't wait anything huge. This was an average modern time horror flick so nothing new and ending was predictable as always in these kinds of movies but other than those, i enjoyed watching this.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block