Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (31) - TV Shows (7) - Games (8)

In the Heart of the Sea review

Posted : 1 year, 9 months ago on 11 January 2016 10:27 (A review of In the Heart of the Sea)

NO FISHERMAN'S LUCK

Seafaring were interesting to follow. To see how the crew worked the whaler and how they hunted whales and collected the whale oil.
I like these kinds of historical movies. True stories. Myths. Always interesting to see what happened and what the world was before us and how it has evolved since then.
The score was good and the whale scenes were nicely shot.
Need to read Herman Melville's Moby Dick when i get the chance.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Inside Out review

Posted : 1 year, 9 months ago on 7 January 2016 04:33 (A review of Inside Out)

GREAT STORY OF GROWING UP AND LETTING THINGS GO

This animation really touched me. It was joyful, sad, scary, fateful and gross at the same time. It taked me back to my childhood and maked me appreciate even more thous wonderful memories of the places i've been and the peoples that i've met. This movie teach us to never forget thous important parts in our lives and cherish them all, because thous are the things what makes us who we are.
Animation work was finest. I really liked the colours and the shapes. Main characters Joy, Sadness, Fear, Anger and Disgust were all interesting and funny. Disgust was my favorite. Humor was great, which is on my opinion one of the most important parts on the animations. Voice acting was also done well.
This was really good movie and very educational for childrens and teenagers. Why not adults too, so they can notice and understand better the growing phases of their childrens.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Creed review

Posted : 1 year, 9 months ago on 5 January 2016 07:02 (A review of Creed)

ONE MORE GOOD ROCKY MOVIE.

I would gladly give Stallone an oscar for this movie. Hospital and the gym scenes, when Rocky tells the bad news to Creed, were one of his greatest acting moments of all time. I was touched and impressed that the old muscle pile can pull it off and Michael B. Jordan wasn't so bad either.
The first fight scene with Stallone on Creeds corner was pure gold. Filmed in one continuing shot and you know for my previous review The Revenant, that i love those shots. Awesome camera work from Maryse Alberti.
Definitely this Rocky sequel/spin-off earned its third place for my Rocky Movies In Order list.
This was clearly a love letter for Rocky fans and it worked perfectly!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Revenant review

Posted : 1 year, 9 months ago on 4 January 2016 12:15 (A review of The Revenant)

PERFECT REVENGE. PERFECT MOVIE.

As a friend of movies, it makes me always happy to see so beautiful, pure and perfect movie like The Revenant. Everything were just right on this one.
First i must start at the camera work and those long shots. They were the finest work. Everytime i see long shot in the movie, it instantly gets one star from me if they are done right. I just love those and i think it is pure talent and magic of movie making, which lead us to Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu. Last year he reclaimed place on my list of favorite directors with hes work in Birdman Or The Unexpected Virtue Of Ignorance (2014). It is such a challenge to organize and keep everything under control in those long shots and Inarritu is one of the few who can master it. It was also impressive that he shot this whole movie in natural light and that gaved it even more realistically look.
I must give huge applauds to cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki and composers Bryce Dessner, Carsten Nicolai and Ryuichi Sakamoto. Camera work was flawless and the score beautiful. Even now im listening it while im writing this review. Also the landscapes were so pretty, that i wanna move there and spend the rest of my life enjoying those high mountains, wide forests and rushing rivers.
Then the main leads. Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hardy were awesome.
DiCaprio manage to capture sorrow, pain and anger with hes performance. I even get glassy-eyed in one point. But i think Tom Hardy stealed the screen from DiCaprio everytime when they shared it. He just was the perfect villain and ruthless bad ass. There was even a understandable reason why he did what he must.
I hope this film wins many awards in oscars and i hope you enjoy it as much as i did.

PS. And no. The bear didn't raped Leonardo DiCaprio twice in this movie, although the attack looked very violent and painful.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Turbo Kid review

Posted : 1 year, 9 months ago on 3 January 2016 08:19 (A review of Turbo Kid)

Practical effects were finest work! Looked beautiful and seemed like what you and your friends could pull off if you just try hard enough. Also i liked the sidekick alot, who Laurence Leboeuf played. Friends of movies should definitely check this out and learn a few tricks if you're planing to make your own film with lots and lots of gore.


YEAR'S FIRST MOVIE SHARED WITH FRIEND!

User: hsallinen



0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Martian review

Posted : 1 year, 9 months ago on 2 January 2016 09:00 (A review of The Martian)

Matt Damon and Ridley Scott scienced the shit out of this movie! Awesome work!
If you liked Robert Zemeckis's Contact (1997) or Christopher Nolan's Interstellar (2014), you will like this too.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Hateful Eight review

Posted : 1 year, 9 months ago on 2 January 2016 10:30 (A review of The Hateful Eight)

STORY OF JULES WINNFIELD'S GRANDFATHER


I think its only a proper to start this year's cinemas for one of my favorite directors of all time, Quentin Tarantino's The Hateful Eight.

My first impression of the movie was OK. It wasn't as good as hes previous work Django Unchained. The dialogue was awesome classic Tarantino, characters were interesting and well acted ecpecially Jennifer Jason Leigh. I think she was eating the scenary everytime she was on it. Even Samuel L. Jackson gave slightly different performance than hes usual acting jobs are. It was also good to see Tim Roth (who was awesome in this movie) and Michael Madsen together in Tarantino movie after Reservoir Dogs. Action was gory and violent like in Django and the music was great. Glad to hear Morricone's work in a western after forty years which he master best.

I think the main problems that i had with this movie was, that it was too long and the reveal of the murder plot was too easy to guess. Normally i don't have almost nothing bad to say Tarantino's movies. I think those are perfect on their own way, but the problems rised up when the script leaked in the internet and Tarantino needed to change it so much that he has to leave the best parts out. I know it's a challenge to place entire movie in a one room, but some scenes seemed just filling the length of the movie.
The way i saw this movie coming out, was a murder mystery in a wild west. So of course i was waiting twists and jaw dropping reveals, but those were easily predictable.
This wasn't Tarantino at his best but it wasn't a bad movie either, because there is no such a thing than a bad Tarantino movie. It definitely deserve those three Golden Globes nominees. If you are hardcore Quentin fan like me, you should definitely check it out!


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 2 3 4 5Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block